Recession Mama











{October 4, 2009}   What Our Six Month Anniversary Means To Me…

By Katy

happy-anniversary-balloon-bouquet

Six months ago, this week, Heather, Carla and I launched this site.  We had no idea what it would become.  We just wanted a place where we could talk about our experiences in this unusual economy.  We each had very different economic realities, as I am sure our readers do also.  In fact, I think each of us draw in the kinds of readers who are most like us…and sometimes, we also get readers who can’t understand what we’re going through and let us know it!  Money is a hard subject to talk about.  It’s also a hard subject to write about.  Money is so personal.  It’s definitely been hard for us, and we’re the Recession Mamas!  I’ve gotten criticized for how much I’m planning to spend on my wedding, and I haven’t even spent the money.  I was just writing about what various locations might cost us.  But that’s why it’s important to keep sharing each other’s stories.

I actually embrace the criticisms.  I address them, of course, in future posts.  But I love hearing the good and the bad.  This is what this site is for!  We should help each other through a period of time in our lives and in our country’s history that most of us have never lived through before.  We don’t always have to write about our money issues.  I think it makes for a better site if we actually don’t.  I think we are just here to document what this strange, new economic world is like…for us and for our guest writers.

I love when readers write to me and tell me how much they relate to what we’re writing about.  I love when I hear that someone has even used a tip or two from this site.  But what I love most is when someone says simply, thanks, for putting it out there!  We are going to try and keep putting it out there for all of you…and for ourselves.  Thank you so much for reading these last six months!  I hope you’ll continue to read and contribute.  Also stay tuned!  We’ll be rolling out a new look soon!!!



Cheryl says:

Congrats on six months and best wishes for many more. I am a new fan and love the stories, the honesty, and the sharing. Keep going ladies, you all rock!



Katy says:

Thanks, Cheryl!!!



Carla says:

Woo! How fun, Katy. I can’t wait for the new look. : ) CAN’T WAIT!!!!!!!



recessionmama says:

From Heather:

Money IS a hard subject to talk about whether you’ve got it or not. But hopefully we’ve given readers something to laugh and talk about. Thanks to everyone who’s stopped to check us out.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
