Recession Mama











{July 10, 2009}   …What She Said

–by Carla

Heather’s post this week really hit home for me. What she wrote could not be more true. I can honestly say that since I was let go from my FT job last winter, I have been able to focus more on my health, which stinks right now, but at least I can try to heal.

I’m basically running around like a Saudi sheik with a crew of doctors these days…going from one to the next…trying to figure out what the heck’s wrong with me. Maybe it’s nothing. At least that’s what I’m hoping. Maybe it’s the fact that I’ve cranked out 2 human beings in the past 2 years. That’s gotta do a number on a girl’s body. Maybe I’m just old.

But one thing’s for sure: With work out of the way, I have way more room in my brain to worry about what matters most: my boys…

Putting both boys in the pool keeps me plenty worried...believe me.

Putting both boys in the pool keeps me plenty worried...believe me.

 

Something else got me thinking from Heather’s last guest post about working out and not breaking the bank. The personal trainer gave tips for trying to stay in shape on a budget and the best one was to hire a personal trainer…even though that sounds nuts. It really is such a great investment in your body. I’ve worked with 3 personal trainers over the years and I can tell you that during those times, I was in the best shape of my life. I had 14% body fat, wore sizes 0 and 2 (and still thought I was fat…sigh)…and you could bounce a quarter off my thighs (SUCH a far cry from where I am today…again, sigh)…but my point is this: I kept all of my trainer’s workout cards and to this day, I can remember all of my routines. I know how many sets and how many reps to do..and in which order to do them. I love it. Having not “worked out” (…although chasing around after a 2-year-old all day counts for something, right?) in a gym in a few years and not with a trainer in almost 6 (holy*&!!), I can tell you that I’m a little rusty, but I still feel so confident that I know the drill. That was one of my better investments over the years…one that keeps paying me. I can do those exercises here at the house with my 3lb dumbbells (cuz I don’t wanna look like a dude) …and I can walk around the block for cardio. Actually, I want a stationary bike real bad…I mean, I do live in Texas and it’s about 102 today…but I have to come up with a RM way of scoring it for super cheap or free. Anyone feeling charitable?  

When I take care of myself, I can take care of those around me and that’s what matters most.

Oh and nevermind on the stationary bike. While I was looking online just now, I saw a kit that turns your regular bike into a stationary one…

... now that's what I'm talkin' about...but it better be cheap.

... now that's what I'm talkin' about...but it better be cheap.

…and since I’ve used my regular bike all of ONE time (one of my not so smart $500 investments), I’m totally doing this. Unless anyone is feeling charitable, of course.



Heather B says:

Good for you Carla! I’m impressed that you kept the personal trainer’s workouts. What a find. You make a great point that when you feel better, you can take of your family and friends better. That’s so important. Check out the community health center. I’ve heard of people paying less than 100 dollars a year to use them. That’s much cheaper than filling a prescription.



Katy says:

Your boys are sooo adorable! I love that photo. And yes, investing in your health is probably one of the best investments we can make. Without our health, nothing would be worth it! So I say go get ’em! Do what you need to do. I am too!!! Thanks for the inspirations, mamas!!!



Lydia says:

You go, mama! Meantime, can someone hand me another Dr. Pepper? 😉



carla says:

Dr Peppers RULE !! They’re good for you : ) Or at least I want them to be.



carla says:

…or Dr Pepper RULES. I wrote it the other way to include all the various kinds: cherry vanilla, diet, etc….you get the idea. Mmmm, omg now I want one real bad. This lime water just ain’t cuttin’ it. Katy, y’all have DP in LA? I remember once on a trip to Europe when I was a kid..and I asked for DP and was shocked and horrified when they didn’t know what the hell I was talkin’ about. : )



Katy says:

I love Dr. Pepper. I was just talking to my friend Lynn about it this past week. And yeah, we have it here in L.A. Not everywhere like in Texas though.



Heather B says:

DP is good but it makes my teeth feel like they’ve grown fur. My grandparents used to drink it because they thought it made them “regular”



Leave a Reply

et cetera
