Recession Mama











{June 29, 2009}   I Am NOT to be Trusted with a Credit Card

By Katy

Credit Crunching

Credit Crunching

How many people like doing expense reports? I am definitely not one of them. Luckily, I had just two expense reports to turn in for my current gig, and my boss told me to have my production assistant do them. But unlike the ones for work, I also had to fill out an expense report for a mentorship program I’m involved in.

Boy, did they add up!

When I looked at these expense reports, I realized that I charged everything onto my credit card! And when I looked at my credit card, I realized that I owed a HUGE amount of money. It’s not over $1000. But it is definitely high. And I know those two reimbursement checks won’t cover it all.

So what happened?

Now, normally, I like to operate on a cash basis. But this time, I used the credit card for my work-related and mentorship-related expenses because I thought that maybe it would buy me some time. I thought I wouldn’t have to pay off my expenses until my expense checks came in. Not use my own money for these expenses. Well you get it. Bad idea. For me. I think I’m one of those people that can’t be trusted with a credit card. Once I started charging for work and mentorship related expenses, I also started charging for regular life stuff — eating out, buying groceries, etc. Now, not only have I not received my reimbursement checks yet, I have to fork over even more money for other expenses. I can’t even remember what I charged!

I will, of course, pay this off.

I am a responsible adult, and I hate debt hanging over me as much as other people hate creepy crawly things that go bump in the night. But next time, I am going to use my cash or debit card so that when I receive my reimbursement checks, I can feel like I really got my money back.



recessionmama says:

From Heather: Paying with plastic can be dangerous. I’m not sure if any of us can be trusted. I just use my debit card.



Lydia says:

Ack! I know exactly what you mean!!!😉



Katy says:

I definitely try and use cash or my debit card whenever. But this one time I used my credit card because I knew I was going to get it reimbursed. That theory didn’t really pay off for me because I just started using the credit card for other things and the line got blurry.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
