Recession Mama











{May 18, 2009}   Ready, Aim, Misfire!

BY: Heather

ready aim fire

This is my daughter Madeline. She’s 3 1/2. And yes she’s shooting a BB Gun. Or so she thinks. The safety was on and the gun was unloaded. But she felt like Annie Oakley just the same. (except she chose a princess dress and put her shoes on the wrong feet)

She’s a little girl. Ready to take aim and fire! But she’s not really sure what to do, so she’s closed her eyes, looked the other way and pulled the trigger. BLAM!

This is how I sorta feel about the economy. We’re not really sure where to aim and point the blame. It’s just open season. And anyone who gets that deer-in-the-headlights look turns into to roadkill.

Just a sidebar here. My son got this BB gun for his birthday, much to my chagrin. It’s staying at his granny’s farm and will only be used under strict supervision. My kids don’t even have toy guns. This is how freaked out I get about guns. This was more of a photo op than anything else. My dad taught me how to shoot. And I’m pretty good. But that’s required when you grow up in Oklahoma. We learned how to do it responsibly. But I once got shot in the BUTT with a BB gun, so let’s just say I’m not a fan.  

bobby and bb gun

 

 I think most of us are ducking for cover in this recession. Even if you haven’t been hit … you’re probably being careful anyway. Maybe you’re cutting back because you’re not sure what’s going to happen. Or perhaps you’ve had second thoughts about some of your spending. ($3 for a bottle of water? $4 bucks for a cup of coffee? No thanks!)

Washington says things are looking up, but warns there are still some tough days ahead.

I’m sorry. But what does this REALLY mean? Should we dive into the foxhole… or go about our merry way? I’m confused.

There are just too many mixed messages out there.

I’m not blaming lawmakers. I’m just saying I don’t think anyone can accurately predict what’s  going to happen. So maybe they should stop trying.

For me, lawmakers are a little like my 3 1/2 year old daughter with a bb gun. They’re locked and loaded. But they’re not really sure where to fire. So they’re just shooting into the breeze and hoping that they hit something.

Unfortunately, there have been more misses than hits.

I can’t blame them for taking a shot. But they seriously need to improve their aim.

If there’s anything my dad taught me about shooting a gun it’s that you can’t rush it and that you can’t be too careful. You have to take your time and focus if you’re going to get the shot.

“Line up your target, take a deep breath and then shoot.”  he would say.

“And don’t act like a little idiot or you’ll kill yourself.” he would add.

Blunt, but true.

Maybe as a nation we should slow down, focus on the problem and take better aim. Otherwise, we could end up getting shot in the butt.

-Heather



Katy says:

Your dad has the best sayings! “Don’t act like a little idiot or you’ll kill yourself.” That should be life’s motto. Your kids are adorable…even when they’re holding guns. 🙂



Heather says:

Yes. My dad had a way with words. And my kids are poster children for the NRA. But not if I have anything to do with it.



recessionmama says:

I love hearing stories about your Dad. Soooo blunt, indeed. I love the pic of your babies with weapons! SO cool!



recessionmama says:

oopps, that’s me, —Carla



Heather B. says:

My dad was a genuine jackass at times. But I can laugh about some of it now.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
