Recession Mama











{May 11, 2009}   Recession I am

By: Heather

I have to be honest mamas and papas. I’m sick of this recession. I’m ready for it to be over. A distant memory. Until then, I thought I would try to “punch it in the face” with a little grade school humor.

“Are you nuts?” you say.

“Certifiably!” I confirm.

That’s what makes me a true Recession Mama. We try to laugh a little when life throws us some serious problems. For some reason, Green Eggs and Ham by Dr. Seuss comes to mind. I”m not sure why. I can’t explain my nuttiness sometimes.

The Green Eggs and Ham plot, in a nutshell, is as follows: Sam-I-am is trying to get some guy (fluffy creature) to eat Green Eggs and Ham. He doesn’t want them, but he can’t get rid of this pesky Sam.

“Do you like Green eggs and ham?

I do not like them, Sam-I-am. “

The dude (creature) is REALLY annoyed. But Sam-I-am is trying his best to get him to eat Green Eggs and Ham ANYWHERE and with ANYTHING.

“Would you eat them in a box?

Would you eat them with a fox?”

That’s how I feel about the recession. We’re forced to digest this ugly little mess on a daily basis. So why not gobble it down with a side of chuckles.

Anyway, here is my “recession rendition” of the Dr. Seuss story.

Bon Appétit!

Heather

**********

I am recession man.

Recession I am.

That Recession- I- am!

That Recession-I-am!

I do not like that recession-I-am.

Do you like debt and layoffs man?

I do not like them, Recession-I-am.

I do not like debt and layoffs man.

Would you like them here or there?

I would not like them here or there. I want good news from the Fed Chair.

I do not like debt and layoffs man. I do not like them, Recession-I-am.

Would you like to lose your house?

Lose your house with your spouse?

I do not want to lose my house, lose my house with my spouse.

I do not like the recession here or there. I do not like it anywhere.

I do not like debt and layoffs man. I do not like them Recession-I- am.

Would you like them in a theme?

A Madoff Ponzi scheme?

Not in a theme.

Not in a scheme

Not lose my house

Lose my house, with my spouse

I would not like them here or there

I want good news from the Fed Chair

I would not like debt and layoffs man

I do not like them, Recession-I-am.



Carla says:

You have done it again, Heather! You’ve topped yourself! Your brain is awesome for coming up with that poem. It MUST be shared with the world.



Katy says:

Brilliant! I love this poem.



recessionmama says:

Thanks mamas! I have to work hard to keep up with y’all.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
