Recession Mama











{May 9, 2009}   Is the Recession Slowing Down?

By Katy

Barney's New York in Los Angeles, CA

Barney's New York in Los Angeles, CA

In the last two weeks, I’ve gone to several shopping places in Los Angeles. I’ve been to Rodeo Drive in Beverly Hills and its less famous, but still fabulous shopping destinations off of Rodeo, like Barney’s New York. I’ve also eaten at Barney’s Greengrass, and it was packed for lunch! Of course, Barney’s New York is a pretty swanky boutique department store in the infamous 90210 zip and “Greengrass” is its upscale deli/diner, on the penthouse floor, so maybe the recession hasn’t really affected those who “lunch” there. But I also went to a couple of different malls lately and they were packed too!

Today, I went to the Century City Shopping Center for lunch. They have one of the nicest food courts I’ve ever seen:

photo courtesy of www.bunrab.com

photo courtesy of http://www.bunrab.com

Believe me, this photo does not do it justice. You have to see it for yourself! And this photo was not taken today at the mall because if it were, it would be 10 times more crowded! My TV crew and I could not find parking spots for a good 15-20 minutes. I couldn’t believe that every parking space was filled! We had to park on the 2nd underground level, and in my many, many, many trips to this shopping center…I have never, ever had to park on the 2nd underground level.

But what does this all mean? I mean it’s not scientific, by any means. All I’m saying is…in Los Angeles at area malls and restaurants, I’ve started to see a little bit more movement, a little bit more spending, a little bit more splurging like the Los Angeles I’ve always known, and personally, I’m extremely happy and excited about it.

And if you’re still feeling the pinch of this recession like most of us are, here’s a coupon for a free meal.



Heather B says:

That’s encouraging news Katy.Personally I hate going to the mall unless I can buy something.Hopefully these folks can afford to buy something and are doing so. That could drive up the consumer confidence numbers and Wall Street usually like that.



recessionmama says:

Yes! If anyone has the money, it’s a great time to spend right now! There are tons of bargains everywhere too.



Heather B says:

That’s encouraging news Katy.Personally I hate going to the mall unless I can buy something.Hopefully these folks can afford to buy something and are doing so. That could drive up the consumer confidence numbers and Wall Street usually likes that.



I was in Santa Barbara yesterday (yes, despite the fires!) and their main street was still hopping! There were several empty store fronts (which were all full 2 years ago when I was there) but the other stores/restaurants seemed to be doing a good business.

Even though I’m unemployed, I stimulated the economy and shopped this week! đŸ™‚



recessionmama says:

That’s crazy that there were shoppers in Santa Barbara despite the fires! But I’m glad it was busy. So maybe we are seeing a bit of a slowdown in the recession?!



Carla says:

I’ve noticed it a little bit in the Dallas area, as well. At times, I’m even thinking, “what recession?”..because EVERYthing is packed. But some seem to think that people are doing more window shopping these days, basically still hitting the malls because we just don’t know what else to do with our time. Either way, let’s hope it ends soon!



The only real slow-down I’ve seen is at lunch time during the week. Restaurants are empty at lunch as I think people are brown-bagging it to save a little cash. But that’s really it!



Leave a Reply

et cetera
