Recession Mama











{May 8, 2009}   Busy, Busy, Busy

By Carla

I don’t have any hard facts on this…maybe a giant think tank somewhere will whip up a study that I’ll be able to reference down the road, but it sure seems like we’re all busier than we’ve ever been, thanks to this lousy economy.

I know for a fact that I’m busier than ever, even though I was laid off from my full-time job. Between the 6-month-old baby boy, the 2-year-old old toddler boy, the house, the laundry, the cooking (and yes, building sandwiches does count, thank you), the job training, the freelance work, all the passionate, in-depth writing for this website, and my hair fiascoes, I’m swamped.

There’s no more Suzanne to help me with the stupid mop, there’s no more eating out 2 or 3 times a day, there is even less quality time with the husband because of HIS new chores, including the lawn (no more lawn help).

We’re constantly whizzing around all day long, busy, busy, busy…too busy to stop and think about just how busy we’ve become. I don’t know if that’s good or bad. Probably good. Busy is good. What’s the old saying…idle hands are the devil’s something or other? And I always thought I was busy back THEN…back when I was riding the gravy train, working full-time. Nope. This is worse. Much worse. I mean much busier.

Do you know how busy I am? (Go ahead….I’ll wait……………………………………..thank you) I’m so busy, I’m bringing you this “Best Of” segment today. It’s one of my favorite posts to date and one I think is worth sharing again, even if it shows my orange hair again. Who cares. Enjoy: (click on the link below..but you knew that)

I Am So Much Better Looking In A Bull Market



Lydia says:

Love the “best of” segment. I am reaching the stage in life where Ms Clairol may become my new best friend… putting it off as long as possible!

Learning to sort out what is a NECESSITY vs what is a WANT is something we all are better off knowing in the long run. Having a big bear hug from your kid is a lot more important than perfect toenails. Who knows, with a little training maybe your two year old can paint mommy’s toes!



Teresa says:

I think that I have an idea of how busy you are. But try to take some time off for you and the hubby, and stop and smell the roses, or coffee, or whatever! hihihihi… You’ll be ok, no doubt about it!!….



Heather B says:

I know what you mean. Life is busy. I can’t keep up sometimes. I need to clone myself and make that B’yotch do all of the heavy lifting.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
